top of page


Using wushu practice to cultivate Dao

The Neijia Path is comprised of 4 unique “internal” wushu systems: Taijiquan, Baguazhang, Xingyiquan, and Liuhe Bafa.  Each of these different paths is a complete and unique system of practice, moving from the most basic to the advanced. 

The focus of the Neijia Path is to delve deep into the external as well as internal cultivation of these practices.  Through exploration of applied theory in practice, students explore the many facets of these abstruse practices.

Students first build foundations in posture and coordination of both the internal and external before uniting them into the holistic practice of the individual.  One’s level of cultivation being displayed in the manifestation of their movement and greater practice.

Through posture students learn to hold themselves differently.  Through coordination they learn to move and interact differently.  Through stillness they learn to exist differently.  Melding all to build a subtle, yet exquisite power, tempering the holistic practitioner.


Four Roads. One Method

Practicing to greater understand ourselves and life, and thus better navigate them.




A practice focusing on balancing Yin and Yang.  Created through the synthesizing of slow, intention-led movement, internal alchemy, combat theory, and other Daoist practices.  It is a full system of practice used for self-cultivation as well as combat.  Emphasizing cultivation, softness overcoming rigidity, and quieting of the mind.  All movement becomes a holistic representation of one's cultivation.




Baguazhang derives much of its practice from Daoist ritualistic circle walking and theory. Its practice and application is based on the principles and theories of the Yi Jing, Yin Yang Theory, and Five Element Theory. It is characterized by its main foundation building training - Bagua circle walking, as well as major use of the palm and fingers for striking, evasive movement, and indirect circular technique.




Xingyiquan is a system of practice which uses Five Phase Theory in its praxis.  With a major focus on five specific fist practices, posture, and harmonizing of the Three External Unities (shoulder with hip, knee with elbow, hand with foot) with the Three Internal Unities (heart with intention, intention with power, power with qi) one learns to cultivate a devastating full force power in singular movement.




Liuhe Bafa, or 'Six Unities and Eight Methods' is a practice which combines much of the other three practices of the Neijia Path and can only be learned after their extensive study or with Jeff’s approval.  Liuhe Bafa is often referred to as ‘Water Boxing’ because of its unpredictable soft and suddenly explosive movements.


Training Goals and Method

Opening the gates and entering the mountains.


  • A healthy and harmonious body and character

  • Peak physicality brimming with vitality

  • Personal growth and vibrance through challenge

  • A subtle, humble, and penetrating spirit

  • A cultivated grasp of the depths of Daoist practice

  • Expert combat skills focused on de-escalation

  • A humble confidence in managing life’s circumstances

  • Diligence in character and work/training ethic

  • A path to deepen and explore the abstruse realms of practice

  • In depth awareness of the internal landscape

  • Applied theory in navigating daily life


  • Basic Training and Conditioning: building and maintaining strong foundations

  • Major emphasis placed on the unique basic training of each system of practice including practices of both stillness and movement

  • Forms Training: various empty hand and weapons forms which embody, train, and explore major Daoist and theories to cultivate the character and style of each system of practice

  • Meditation and Qigong: major integration of meditation and internal cultivation practices

  • Combat training: structured drills using applied theory from each system as well as free-form regulated sparring and combat application training

bottom of page